Book Prize

The Southern Jewish Historical Society awards a prize every four years for the book making the most significant contribution to the field of southern Jewish history.

Book Prize Winner for 2023

Mark K. Bauman
Author of A New Vision of Southern Jewish History: Studies in Institution Building, Leadership, Interaction, and Mobility


Book Prize Winner for 2019

Eric L. Goldstein and Deborah R. Weiner
Authors of  On Middle Ground: A History of the Jews of Baltimore


Book Prize Winner for 2015

Adam Mendelsohn
Author of The Rag Race: How Jews Sewed Their Way to Success in America and the British Empire


Book Prize Winner for 2011

Bryan Edward Stone
Author of The Chosen Folks: Jews on the Frontiers of Texas


Book Prize Winner for 2007

Deborah R. Weiner
Author of Coalfield Jews: An Appalachian History


Book Prize Winner for 2003

Clive Webb
Author of Fight Against Fear: Southern Jews and Black Civil Rights